Skip to content

The 8 Members of the Cabinet include the Leader of the Council and the Deputy Leader. There are also 6 further Cabinet Members with responsibility for other portfolio areas, as set out below.

The Cabinet (Formerly the Executive) makes decisions on all Key Decisions. (See our Constitution for a definition of a Key Decision and more detail on the Cabinet).



  • Councillor Richard Henry - Leader of the Council, and Transforming Stevenage, Communications and Strategic Partnerships
  • Councillor Jeannette Thomas - Deputy Leader, and Resources and Transformation
  • Councillor Simon Speller - Environment and Performance
  • Councillor Lloyd Briscoe - Economy, Skills and Transport
  • Councillor Jackie Hollywell - Housing and Housing Development
  • Councillor Sandra Barr - Co-operative Council and Neighbourhoods
  • Councillor Loraine Rossati - Culture, Leisure and Wellbeing
  • Councillor Conor McGrath - Stronger Communities

With the Leader holding specific responsibility for Modernisation of Local Government – new political structures and the Constitution, Media and Communications, Public Consultations, Partnerships, Town Twinning, and Members’ Services including the Modern Member Programme and the Civic Suite.

For a more detailed breakdown of the areas covered by each portfolio, please see the Cabinet positions for 2024 - 25 document below.

Member Services

Member Services
Stevenage Borough Council
Daneshill House

01438 242278