Skip to content

Our Mayor, local dignitaries, business leaders and residents gathered on Saturday 16th October at the Gordon Craig Theatre for the annual Pride of Stevenage Awards ceremony to see a number of local heroes honoured.

The winners were revealed by Leader of the Council, Sharon Taylor, at an event hosted by the Mayor, Cllr Sandra Barr and compered by Stevenage FC match day announcer, Jay Drackford.

Prizes were handed out across eight categories - Dedication, Green, Team, Caring, Sporting, Enterprise, Young Star and the Judges’ Special award. The winners were:

Dedication Award – Bill Shackell, for his work with the Scouts since 1980.

Green Award – Leonie Clarke, for being a local Climate Hero.

Team Award – Stevenage Family Support Service, for their hard work to support our most vulnerable families.

Caring Award – (Holy Trinity Stevenage & Christ the King Symonds Green, sponsor of the prize for the Caring Award) - Dan Gaze, who works with young people who are at risk of exploitation.

Sporting Award – Chris Bull who founded Fitkidz works with anyone and everyone, showing them that fitness is something that can be achieved, no matter, size, disability or ability.

Enterprise Award – (sponsored by the Hertfordshire Chambers of Commerce) - Feed-Up, Warm-Up, on Mondays, this service can be found at Stevenage Football Club offering food, help and advice to the homeless.

Young Star Award – Noirit Arnon and Layla-Mai Gorton, two young people who are working on local community projects.

Judge’s Special Award – Professor Jim McManus, Director of Public Health and the Hertfordshire Public Health Team who have spent the last eighteen months focused on advising on the Covid pandemic.

Councillor Sharon Taylor, Leader of Stevenage Borough Council, and chair of the judges, enthused: “These special awards allow us to pay tribute, once a year, to a few of our local heroes – people and organisations that enhance the lives of hundreds of people all over Stevenage every day.

“Ours is a great town and there are fantastic things going on here. Some pretty amazing people are making things happen, making things better, and making a real difference to Stevenage life.”

“I’d like to thank this year’s sponsors, Hertfordshire Chambers of Commerce, Taylor French and Holy Trinity Stevenage & Christ the King Symonds Green. I would like to also thank the judges for giving up their time to choose our winners – Mary Sykes, Hertfordshire Chambers of Commerce, Revd Ruth Carroll, Holy Trinity Stevenage & Christ the King Symonds Green, Martha Lytton Cobbold, Knebworth Estates, Adrian Hawkins, Stevenage Development Board and Eden-Elizabeth Searle, Youth Mayor.”

For press enquiries contact Corporate Communications on 01438 242 168.