Skip to content

Pride of Stevenage Awards winners announced

Stevenage heroes were honoured virtually at this year’s Pride of Stevenage Awards, recognising the good work of individuals and businesses that have made a difference during the pandemic.

The winners of the Pride of Stevenage Awards 2020 are:

Covid lockdown hero

Sophie Ellis, Holiday Inn Express manager who led a team of employees who helped the homeless during lockdown.

Sophie Ellis and the team from Holiday Inn Express

Best company

Stevenage Football Club and Foundation for supporting the community.

Stevenage Football club

Best team Covid support

Barbara Howard, Haven First continuing to offer important services for those in need.

The team at the Haven

Best Covid community hero

Kianna Moloney, for being an example of young people thinking of others and her neighbours.

Kianna - Community Hero

Best Covid community support

Sue McIndoe, Leyden House Day Centre, for its creative approach to taking care of those with disabilities and special needs.

Staff at Leyden House Day centre

Best Covid healthcare hero / heroes

Stevenage District Nursing team.

Stevenage District Nurses

Best Covid adaptable business

Oli Khan, Surma Takeaway who changed the focus of his business so the staff worked to feed key workers and those struggling to eat during the height of the pandemic.

Oli Khan

Judges’ Special Award

Lister Hospital, who continue to do an amazing job looking after the health, wellbeing and lives of the people of Stevenage.

Lister hospital Health Care Worker

The winners were chosen by a panel of judges, chaired by Leader of the Council, Councillor Sharon Taylor. This year’s awards were held virtually for the first time on Saturday 24 October and live streamed from the council’s YouTube channel: The host for the evening was SG1 Sports Scene radio presenter and Stevenage FC match day announcer, Jay Drackford.

Leader of the Council, Councillor Sharon Taylor, said: “The Pride of Stevenage Awards allow us to celebrate and pay tribute to individuals and businesses in our town who have made a difference to the lives of others during what has been a difficult year for all of us.

“Picking the winners wasn’t easy as we had so many worthy nominations, which really showed the best of Stevenage and makes me proud of our amazing town and its people. I would like to thank each of our winners for the contributions they have all made that have made a difference to someone else during such a difficult time.

“I’d also like to thank this year’s sponsors, PSW Consulting, and the judges for giving up their time to choose our winners – Matthew Ford, PSW Building Consultancy; Chief Inspector Simon Tabert, Stevenage Police; Caroline Haskins, Stevenage Community Trust; Jay Drackford, MC for Pride of Stevenage Awards 2020, and Alissa Crew, Youth Mayor.”