Heritage Open Weekend in Stevenage

09 Sep 2015

Come and find out more about how people used to live in Stevenage during Heritage Open Weekend this month.

On 12 and 13 September, you can get the chance to discover the Bath House tucked away in Church Lane in the Old Town behind the Cromwell Hotel.

Stevenage Bath House opened in January 1913 and, until it closed in 1960, was used by residents from the town and beyond, including factory workers, builders working on the new town and soldiers billeted in the town during the wars. In the early 1900s few Stevenage homes had bathrooms and people would bathe in a tin bath filled with hot water or visit the public baths.

Visitors are invited to drop in to the bath house during Heritage Open Weekend to see the facility much as it was left in 1960. There are four cubicles, each with the original bath and fittings, and the coal heater and gas-powered water heater can also be seen.

Councillor Richard Henry, Executive Member for Children, Young People and Leisure, said, “Heritage Open Weekend is a great chance to uncover some secrets of the town’s history. In these days of central heating and indoor bathrooms, it’s hard to imagine having to visit a public bath to keep clean but it was once part of everyday life for many of our townspeople.”

Stevenage Bath House is open on Saturday 12 and Sunday 13 September from 11am to 3pm. It’s free to attend and there is no need to book. The bath house is on Church Lane, close to the junction with Basils Road.