Freedom of Stevenage awarded to Sherma Batson

02 Mar 2017

Stevenage councillors this week (28 February) agreed to posthumously confer the Freedom of Stevenage on Sherma Batson DL MBE, the town’s former Mayor who died in January this year.

Cllr Sharon Taylor, Leader of Stevenage Borough Council, said, in moving the motion: “This honour recognises the contribution made by exceptional individuals. Sherma worked hard for many years to help all communities in our town feel valued, treasured and celebrated. She was an advocate and promoter of democracy and social justice in our town, and inspired others with the warmth of her smile and her zest for life. She truly, uniquely and exceptionally made a difference.”

The conferring title of Honorary Freeman is the highest honour that a Council of a City or Borough can bestow. Under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, a council can admit “persons of distinction and persons who have in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the city, borough or royal boroughs” as Honorary Freeman.

Sherma Batson joins seven people already bestowed with the Honorary Freedom of Stevenage. They are Philip Thomas Ireton JP CC DL, The Right Hon Shirley Williams, The Right Hon John Silkin MP, Councillor Michael Cotter, Councillor Brian Hall CC, Hilda Lawrence, and Dr Joachim Gerhard.