The 8 Members on the Executive include the Leader of the Council and the Deputy Leader (Environment and Regeneration). There are also 6 further Executive Members with responsibility for Children and Young People, Culture, Sport and Leisure; Safer and Stronger Communities; Resources; Community, Health and Older People; Economy, Enterprise and Transport; Housing.

The Executive makes decisions on all Key Decisions. (See Councils Constitution for a definition of a Key Decision and more detail on the Executive).


Leader : Councillor S Taylor OBE CC

Deputy Leader: Councillor John Gardner - Environment and Regeneration

Councillor Howard Burrell - Children and Young People, Culture, Sport and Leisure
Councillor Sherma Batson MBE DL CC - Community, Health and Older People
Councillor Richard Henry CC - Safer and Stronger Communities
Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd – Resources
Councillor Ralph Raynor - Economy, Enterprise and Transport
Councillor Ann Webb - Housing
The Leader also holds specific responsibility for Town Twinning, Modernisation of Local Government – new political structures and the Constitution, Media and Communications, Public Consultations, Partnerships, Members’ Services including the Modern Member Programme and the Civic Suite.