Executive portfolio holders

The 8 Members on the Executive include the Leader of the Council and the Deputy Leader (Environment and Regeneration). There are also 6 further Executive Members with responsibility for Resources, Children, Young People & Leisure, Housing, Health & Older People, Economy, Enterprise & Transport, Communities, Safer Communities & Equalities and Neighbourhoods & Co-operative Council.

The Executive makes decisions on all Key Decisions. (See our Constitution for a definition of a Key Decision and more detail on the Executive).



  • The Leader of the Council - Councillor Sharon Taylor
  • Councillor John Gardner - Deputy Leader - Environment and Regeneration
  • Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd - Resources
  • Councillor Richard Henry - Children, Young People & Leisure
  • Councillor Jeannette Thomas - Housing, Health and Older People
  • Councillor Ralph Raynor - Economy, Enterprise and Transport
  • Councillor Jackie Hollywell - Communities, Safer Communities & Equalities
  • Councillor Simon Speller - Neighbourhoods and Co-operative Council

With the Leader holding specific responsibility for Modernisation of Local Government – new political structures and the Constitution, Media and Communications, Public Consultations, Partnerships, Town Twinning, Members’ Services including the Modern Member Programme and the Civic Suite.

Contact details

Constitutional Services
Stevenage Borough Council
Daneshill House

01438 242992