MPs and MEPs

Members of Parliament and Members of the European Parliament are elected to represent you.

Members of Parliament

Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected in the General Election, held generally every five years or so. Each MP serves in the House of Commons, representing his or her constituency.

Stephen McPartland was elected in May 2015 as the MP to represent the Stevenage constituency.

Members of the European Parliament

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected by you in the European Elections and serve for up to five years.

There are 6 MEPs who represent the Eastern Region.

  • Andrew Duff
  • David Campbell Bannerman
  • Geoffrey Van Orden
  • Robert Sturdy
  • Stuart Agnew
  • Vicky Ford

The Eastern Region is comprised of the 56 Parliamentary constituencies in the counties of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk together with the unitary authorities of Luton, Peterborough, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock.

For further information about each of the MEPs is available on the Herts Direct website.

Useful links

European Parliament 

Contact details

House of Commons

01438 728139